20-Hour DUI Class
ONLINE DUI CLASSES
20 Hour DUI Class
If you have suffered from drug and alcohol abuse and received a DUI charge because of it, we are here to help. It’s a challenge combating substance abuse after a DUI charge, especially if you may not have a large support system. At Cornerstone Healing Center, we will be your support system in your time of need as you take your Arizona 20-hour DUI class.
If you have been ordered to take a 20-hour drug and alcohol course as part of an Arizona court judge, here is what you would need to know before getting started.
What To Expect At A 20 Hour DUI Class
Being given a 20 hour DUI class means that the results of your DUI Drug and Alcohol Screening stated that this would be the best amount of treatment hours for you to get on your road to substance abuse recovery.
Those that are required to take a 20 hour DUI treatment class will do so in conjunction with also taking a 16 hour DUI education class. Learn more about the 16-hour education class at Cornerstone Healing Center so you know what to expect when you begin this portion of your recovery.
Activities during the class will involve:
- Resolving the personal issues or certain relationships with individuals that have led you to alcoholism.
- Discovering the difference between a healthy relationship and a toxic relationship, especially a relationship related to your drug or alcohol habit.
- Recognize what triggers you to be anxious or depressed and find healthy ways to ease those feelings rather than turning to drugs or alcohol.
- Discussions about what happens when the brain drugs and alcohol so that attendees know why they are addicted to these substances.
- Have a family counseling session as part of the treatment class with a Licensed Independent Substance Abuse Counselor (LISAC) and key family members to reconnect with them again before addiction begins.
- Watching a movie (or completing another activity where you can make real-life connections to your situation) to evaluate triggers, toxic relationships, and the healing process in that situation to relate to yours to enhance your road to recovery.
Section R9-20-110-D of the Arizona Department of Human Services law states that participation in a self-help group such as Alcoholics Anonymous (or if the person suffers from a drug issue: Narcotics Anonymous) that these hours spent would not be counted towards the designated Arizona 20-hour DUI class.
The hours that would count towards treatment would be in-person sessions with a Licensed Independent Substance Abuse Counselor (LISAC) or an approved 20 hour DUI classes online program.
If you are participating in group counseling with family members, it should not exceed more than 20 participants in one meeting.
If you are in group counseling with other clients that are taking the treatment program at the same time as you, then you will not be in a group that exceeds 15 people. Hence, everyone will have a chance to participate in the counseling session in a collaborative effort to relate to one another’s issues during the rehabilitation process.
20 Hour DUI Online Course
With advancements in modern technology, it has become possible for people with a DUI charge that are mandated to take a 20-hour drug and alcohol class to be able to take it online. The law does not say that the class has to specifically be in-person.
If you are interested in the 20-hour DUI class, learn more by visiting cornerstonehealingcenter.com/dui.
Where to Find a 20-Hour DUI Class
Finding a 20-hour DUI class can be a challenge if you are not sure where to start. However, we are here to give you guidance for this task.
The class that you choose or that your judge recommends must align with the mandates of the Arizona Department of Health Services. You do not want to sign up for a class and go through with it only to find out that it does not meet their requirements.
Our best tip is to find an organization that will not only offer you the 20-hour alcohol class but also the Drug and Alcohol Screening that’s needed to determine how many hours you need overall for treatment and education. By following this tip, you can receive your screening and your treatment all under one organization for convenience so that you do not have to travel to different organizations for both of these requirements.
When you call around, be sure to have your court decree in hand so that you are meeting all of the judge’s mandates. Refer to the Department of Human Services Article 1 section about DUI services for more information on the requirements for taking DUI classes.
Cornerstone Arizona’s 20 Hour DUI Class
No matter if you are interested in the 20-hour DUI classes online or if you want more of an in-person experience, we have the rehabilitation solution for you in your healing journey.
We are partnered with the Arizona Department of Health Services and the Arizona Division of Motor Vehicle to deliver you the treatment and education courses that you need to get your life back on track and functioning before you start to suffer your substance abuse disorder.
Contact us for a free consultation and to receive more information on treatment and education options today! Besides DUI classes, we also offer an outpatient rehab program and an inpatient program. We can find the best option that is tailored to your specific needs and everyday schedule so that your program can remain flexible to your current lifestyle.
Frequently Asked Questions About 20-Hour DUI Classes
We know that rehab can be stressful and that you may have questions about the 20-hour DUI classes and the process. Here are answers to your frequently asked questions about the 20-hour DUI classes.
Q: What would cause my DUI treatment class to be extended for longer?
A: Section R9-20-110-E of the Arizona Department of Human Services ordinances state that 3 events could extend a person’s treatment hours. If any of these events happen within the 16 weeks after treatment has started for the patient, then hours will be extended:
- If a family member of the patient dies.
- If the patient is doing jail time in conjunction with treatment classes.
- If the patient or his or her family member has fallen ill and requires medical treatment.
These events would extend treatment time because the hardship may cause the patient to relapse in their substance abuse disorder. Extending treatment hours would help doctors and counselors to keep a close eye on the patient during these troublesome times.
Q: Which organizations mandate DUI education and treatment classes?
A: The Arizona Division of Motor Vehicle requires people with DUI charges to take DUI education and treatment courses for the individual to be able to have their license reinstated after a suspension.
The Arizona Department of Health Services is the organization that orders the requirements for how the DUI courses are structured.
Q: How long do I have to complete the DUI treatment course?
A: The 20-hour DUI class must be completed within 16 weeks from the date on which treatment started. However, if the hours are to be extended per Section R9-20-110-E, then the 16 weeks can be extended accordingly based on how many more hours are added to the original 20.
All Classes Online
Call to Speak with a DUI Specialist
Get Started Now!
Still Have QUESTIONS ABOUT DUI COURSES?
Our DUI Specialists are here to explain the process the screening process, answer any questions you may have, and ensure you’re enrolling in the right courses to satisfy your DUI requirements.